Thursday, January 17, 2019
  • Upper Cumberland Now – Circle Icon – News Talk 94 1
  • Circle – Train Engine
  • Circle – Train Depot
  • Circle – Courthouse
  • Circle – Cream City
  • Circle – Dale Hollow
  • Circle – Falls
  • Circle – Oldham Theatre
Happening Now

New Divisions Announced For Upper Cumberland Schools

upper-cumberland-prep-logo-09-13-16Upper Cumberland schools will see their region rivals change as the TSSAA announced its realignment plan for 2017-2021.

Tennessee High school sports will again feature six divisions in football and three in most other sports.

In football, five Upper Cumberland schools will make up region four in 1-A. Clay County, Gordonsville, Monterey, Pickett County and Red Boiling Springs will battle Jo Byrns out of Cedar Hill and Republic High School out of Nashville.

Jackson County will play football in 2-A’s region four with local schools Trousdale County and Watertown as well as division foes Cascade, East Robertson and Westmoreland.

In 3-A football, York Institute and Upperman will battle Cannon County, Grundy County, Sequatchie Countyand Smith County in region four.

Dekalb County moves to 4A under the new realignment. The Tigers will be part of region three with Cumberland County, Livingston Academy, Macon County and Stone Memorial.

After playing east Tennessee schools in the last realignment, White County moves to a more middle Tennessee region in 5-A football. The Warriors will join region five with Columbia Central, Franklin County, Lincoln County, Page, Shelbyville Central, and Summit.

Cookeville and Warren County remain 6-A opponents in region three, though the TSSAA divided the Rutherford County schools. The other members of the region include Blackman, Coffee County, Oakland, Riverdale, and Siegel.

In basketball, baseball and softball, four Upper Cumberland schools will come together in 3-A Region three. Cookeville, Stone Memorial, White County and Warren County will join Rhea County in district six.

Upper Cumberland 2-A schools will mostly play in region four district eight with York, Dekalb County, Livingston Academy, and Upperman joining Cannon County, Macon County, Smith County and Watertown.

Cumberland County will face 2-A foes in region four district seven including Bledsoe County, GrundyCounty, Marion County, and Sequatchie County.

1-A District 6 will include Clarkrange, Clay County, Gordonsville, Jackson County, Monterey, Pickett County, Red Boiling Springs and Trousdale County.

Van Buren County will play in 1-A Region 3 District 5 with Ivy Academy, Lookout Valley, Richard Hardy, South Pittsburg, and Whitwell.

Schools statewide can appeal their placement Thursday at a TSSAA meeting in Nashville.